Meet the Coaches Working in Uganda and Kenya

Meet Sophie Kligler

Favorite soccer team: Barcelona
Favorite player: Messi
Favorite movie: Rain Man
Favorite food: Macaroni and Cheese
Who will win Euro 2012? Spain!
Funniest moment on the soccer field: One game, my cleats and an opponents laces got stuck together in a tackle and it took a solid 5 minutes of us tangled on the floor until we were able to separate them!
What you are most looking forward to with your volunteering? I am most looking forward to getting to know the kids in the community I am sent to and to taking TONS of pictures!
Interesting fact(s) about you: I play the bass guitar, I love eating, I used to speak Hebrew relatively fluently but have forgotten it all, and I love to be fit but hate working out (unless it’s playing a sport).
Anything else you want us to put out in the blogosphere?  (i.e. quote/hopes/dreams/favorite color/astrology sign?): “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” –Nelson Mandela

Sophie will be working with Kampala School of Excellence Ministries (KSEM) and a new program in Uganda.

Meet Jessie Wright

Favorite soccer team: Juventus

Favorite player: Gianluigi Buffon

Favorite movie: Miracle

Favorite food: Nutella

Who will win Euro 2012? Argentina (is that your final answer Jessie?)

Funniest moment on the soccer field: When I was about 6 years old, I played forward. When I received the ball, I got so excited that I turned towards my team and sprinted into our own goal with the ball. At the moment, I was horrified that I did that, but now that I look back, the story is pretty funny.

What you are most looking forward to with your volunteering? I am most looking forward to meeting and experiencing people from a different country. I love to travel and love to help people in any way possible. This is a situation where there might be a language barrier and soccer can act as a universal language. I am thrilled to be able to use soccer as a teaching mechanism to foster social development.

Interesting fact(s) about you: I know how to unicycle and play the French horn. I can also make my eyes move in two different directions (according to Melanie Baskind).

Jessie will be working with Kisumu Youth Soccer and Society Empowerment Project (SEP) in Kenya.

Meet Adam Burgess

Favorite Soccer Team- Stirling Albion

Favorite Player- Gareth Bale/ Andrea Pirlo

Favorite Movie- The Godfather

Favorite Food- A Strong Mature Cheddar

Who Will Win Euro 2012- Unfortunately not Scotland, maybe Germany

Funniest moment on the Soccer Field?– Diego Maradona’s ‘Hand of God’ in 1986.

What are you most looking forward to with your volunteering?– Meeting lots of new people.

Interesting fact about you– I have seen every episode of Cheers at least once!

Anything else you want us to put out in the blogosphere?  Woody>Buzz

Adam is currently working with Vijana Amani Pamoja (VAP) and will be working with Kisumu Youth Soccer,  Society Empowerment Project (SEP) and Likoni Community Football League in Kenya.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

