The first Community Impact Coach of Uganda Salim Blanden joins CAC in Mpigi.

226669_285188108284876_188608128_nCoaches Across Continents traveled to Mpigi, to work with Abato Foundation this past week. It was the second year working in Mpigi for CAC, but the first year to have a Ugandan Impact Coach.

Salim Blanden was chosen as the first impact coach in Uganda, and has thrived over the past week proving the importance of impact coaches for CAC. Salim runs a football academy named Mbarara Sports Academy where he shares the CAC curriculum throughout the year. He is an inspiring coach who implements the CAC games at a top level to all of the coaches and children he comes across. Not only has Salim been working hard on the field, but also he has been teaching the CAC team about the culture in Uganda and giving them cooking lessons on local food each night.

“I am so excited to be working with Coaches Across Continents and am so glad to be the first Community Impact Coach in Uganda and the second in Africa.

I am also glad to have worked with Emily Lambert the “On field Partner Strategist” and also Rachel Blauner, one of the volunteers from USA. Emily has taught me many games about soccer and other games about our social life and the games will help me create a lasting impact for other coaches and young people in my community and other communities around my home.

294168_468598173222934_2130154910_n

In my first year as a Community impact Coach I have managed to teach other coaches and teachers in Mpigi with the help of the CAC team. I have also tried to help in translating in our local language for the coaches so that they can easily understand the games.

I want to say that I am so thankful for CAC for the experience I have received. The CAC curriculum teaches more than soccer and teaches social skills that are so important for the young people around my community and am so grateful for the wealth of memories the CAC coaches have left behind which will be transferred to very many coaches and children at Mbarara Sports Academy and the communities around.

Lastly, I want to thank CAC for selecting me as the first Community Impact Coach in Uganda and still looking forward for working with the organization for as long as I am needed. -Salim Blanden”

Tags: ,

One Comment on “The first Community Impact Coach of Uganda Salim Blanden joins CAC in Mpigi.”

  1. Salim T. Blanden June 4, 2013 at 10:07 am #

    Thank you CAC!

Leave a Reply

